Recipe: Pear and Caramel Sauce

pear sauce

I don’t usually spend my Friday evenings cooking. Never thought I ever would. And… it turned out to be much more fun than I expected. Not the YAY-I’ll-do-this-every-week kind of fun, but I might start doing it more often.

What really helped was that this was actually a fun and simple recipe to cook. It took about an hour – and it was totally worth it! The best part is… it tastes amazing!

IMG_20150328_145117

All you need for this recipe are 6 pears, white or brown sugar (I used white), some vanilla extract and a dash of cinnamon. You can also add about 50 grams of butter, it will make the sauce a little creamier.

I thought it would turn out more like jam, but this might be even better. You can use it on your toast or when making desserts. Adding it to your morning oatmeal is a great idea, too!

0001-5213256

There’s only one thing you should watch out for – don’t burn the pears once they start to caramelize! Make sure you mmix them well enough. And I know no one likes waiting for food to cool down, but… don’t burn your tongue:)

0001-5100524

Leave a Reply

